Tarot Project: Eight of Cups

Working in a hotel restaurant, the holiday season is our busiest time of year. This should be no surprise to anyone, but, at the same time, it most likely doesn’t register completely for those who don’t work in the service industry. During the slow season, for example, I might be scheduled to work four days and only work three. During the holiday season, on the other hand, I jump up to working six days a week. Even with scheduling every available employee as much as possible, there are still some days where we are simply short-staffed to deal with the sheer volume of people. Knowing this, I should have decided to take a break on writing for the Tarot Project for the month, but I wanted to tough through it. Obviously, that didn’t happen.

Moving on, today’s card is the Eight of Cups, the Lord of Abandoned Success. We’ve seen this card pop up before, part of a theme of transition and my feeling a need for deeper meaning in life. Since the last time I drew this card, I have accepted a new position as Marketing Director for AudaVoxx, an audiobook newsletter that offers curated suggestions to its subscribers. It is work that will allow me to use my love of books to enrich the publishing industry by growing a much needed service. Seeing the Eight of Cups again, I hope that it is acknowledging I have proceeded toward transition, even if there is personal growth yet to be made.

Leave a Reply

