Tarot Project: Ill-Dignified Ten of Coins

I went to Olympia Wednesday to hang out with my friend who lives in Japan, but who is home visiting. The drive back took a bit more time than expected, and once I finally got home I had to rush to work. So, no post yesterday. But I had a lovely time eating shabu-shabu and playing games.

The Ten of Coins is the culmination of financial progress, equating security and success. This is one of the most straightforward illustrations for the Scapini tarot. It depicts a tree of coins grown strong and tall, with a mighty castle in the background. Ten is a number of stability. The foundations are rock solid.

Ill dignified, the Ten of Coins means there’s something interfering with that stability. Maybe the tree looks grown, but the roots are weak. There’s rot underneath the bark. Or maybe the querent is working hard and earning money, but it disappears too quickly to grant stability. Maybe it’s just temporary.

As a server, the holiday season is our busiest time of the year, but it is only temporary. January and February are really slow, so while it’s a temptation to spend all the money made during December, it is more prudent to save it for the slow months. While currently I feel stable in my finances, it is important for me to remember that my current level of income is temporary, and not to take it for granted.

Leave a comment