Tarot Project: Ill-Dignified Wheel of Fortune (again)

If you’ve been following this project, you know the Wheel of Fortune means inevitable change, and the inverted Wheel of Fortune means change prolonged. As the Wheel of Fortune has already shown up a few times in this project, rather than give another lengthy explanation of the card, I will reflect on its possible meaning.

I received disappointing news yesterday, so I could read this as a kind of encouragement. Change hasn’t happened yet, but it will happen, it’s just going to take a while. Right now outside forces are having a negative influence on my life, but the wheel will roll on to something else.

I could also read this as I am resisting the change that is trying to come. One reason I dislike reading the card this way, is that I have no way of knowing what the right way to help the change along is, and I feel that there are as many traps in trying to second guess your actions as there are in subconscious self-sabotage. The other reason I dislike reading the card this way is because I think too many people are dominated by feelings of guilt already; I certainly have some guilt legacies. While some guilt may be healthy, being dominated by guilt is destructive.

Buddhism, as I understand it, would say to acknowledge that there might be resistance, accept that part of yourself, and move on. I think this is the best way to deal with readings like this, which suggest you may be sub-consciously blocking your path forward. Accept the advice, meditate on what ways you might be doing that, and then move forward, keeping the advice in mind, but not letting it dictate your actions. Meanwhile, I will accept the encouragement; as support in moving forward – hope – can only be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

